## Draft Agenda 30 years of EU action against cancer Jointly organised by the European Commission and the Luxembourg Presidency

Luxemburg, Cercle Cité, 15 September 2015 (2:30 pm – 5:30 pm)

- 1. Welcome by Luxembourg Presidency of the European Union (**Lydia Mutsch**, Minister for Health, Luxembourg) and European Commission (**Vytenis Andriukaitis**, Commissioner for Health and Food Safety)
- 2. Three Panels (Followed each by an open discussion):
  - Historic background of EU Action on cancer and long term perspective
    speakers: Alberto Costa, Director, European School of Oncology, Mario Dicato,
    Centre Hospitalier Luxembourg, Francisco Jesus Alvarez Hidalgo, Deputy
    Head of Unit, Health, Safety and Hygiene at Work Unit, Directorate General for
    Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion, European Commission
  - Continuity from 1985 to 2015
    - National Cancer Plans (**Danielle Hansen-Koenig**, Director, Ministry for Health Luxembourg, **Mojca Gobec**, Director General, Slovenian Ministry of Health),

Action in the field of prevention (**Wendy Yared**, Director, Association of European Cancer Leagues, **Florence Berteletti-Kemp**, Director, the Smoke Free Partnership, **Marianne Skar**, Secretary General, European Alcohol Policy Alliance),

European Code against Cancer, (**Christopher Wild**, Director, International Agency for Research on Cancer)

Conclusions and Outlook

speakers: **F. Jankevičius**, Director, University Clinic Santariskes, Vilnius, **Tit Albrecht**, Institute of Public Health, Slovenia, **Francesco de Lorenzo**, President, European Cancer Patient Coalition, **Martin Seychell**, Deputy Director General, Directorate General for Health and Food Safety, European Commission, **Krzysztof Maruszewski**, Director, Institute for Health and Consumer Protection, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

**3.** Closure: **John F. Ryan**, Acting Director for Public Health, Directorate General for Health and Food Safety, European Commission – **Danielle Hansen-Koenig** 

Followed by a reception hosted by the Luxembourg Presidency

